Football Union of Russia

Russian public organization

14:35, 27 November 2017

Nominees for the "Top Five" Award

Applicants for the national "Top Five" award have become known. The Children's Football League awards the Premier League’s youngest player of the year.

The list of nominees included Dmitry Barinov (“Lokomotiv” Moscow), Ayaz Guliyev (“Anji” Makhachkala), Rifat Zhemaletdinov (“Rubin” Kazan), Alexander Zuev ("Krylia Sovietov" Samara – “Rostov” Rostov-on-Don), Ivan Oblyakov (“Ufa” Ufa) and Fedor Chalov (“CSKA” Moscow). The awardee will be determined by voting in which heads and coaches of the Premier League clubs, as well as juniors, youth and national teams, representatives of the RFU, Premier League, FNL, PFL, CFL, football development organizations and journalists will take part.

Victor Gorlov, president of the Children's Football League:

- Our award is given for 15 years. There were years when, it seemed, there was no sense in voting: the winner was obvious. And, on the contrary, it happened, when we could not find even three nominees – when the year for young players turned out to be so unlucky. So, for example, in 2013, the CSKA player Konstantin Bazeluk actually received an award for success in the doubles tournament and the youth national team of the country. To create competition, we even increased the age qualifications of applicants. But this year would have pleased us even in the previous format. There were never so many players in our preliminary shortlist - 19! And 8 of them can compete for an honorary title for the next year as well. I think the possible reasons for such boost are a possible limit on foreign players, which made the clubs’ directing and coaches pay attention to the youth, and the successful work of schools, especially the Moscow ones. We usually include 5 players in the list of nominees, but now it is one more. It was impossible to cut someone without offending. Everyone deserved it with quite stable game and progressive movement in the career. Barinov, Zuev, Zhemaletdinov have been in the limelight since 2013, when together they became the winners of the Junior European Championship U-17. Of course, the representation of such teams on this list as “Anji”, “Lokomotiv”, “Rubin”, “Rostov”, “Ufa”, “CSKA” can’t leave you indifferent. However for Guliyev, Oblyakov, Zhemaletdinov, Zuev, these clubs is a recent residence permit. Still, they were brought up in schools of Moscow, St. Petersburg, and Moscow region.


The award was established by the CFL in 2002. Applicants are selected annually according to three criteria: Russian citizenship, age of the player (not older than 21 years, until 2015 - no older than 20 years), the number of matches played for the team (at least a third). In different years, Alexander Kerzhakov, Vladimir Bystrov (both “Zenit” St. Petersburg), Diniyar Bilyaletdinov (“Lokomotiv”), Igor Akinfeev (“CSKA”), Roman Shishkin, Kirill Kombarov (“Dynamo” Moscow), Alan Dzagoev , Georgy Schennikov (both “CSKA”), Pavel Yakovlev (“Spartak Moscow” – “Krylia Sovetov”), Alexander Kokorin (“Dynamo”), Konstantin Bazeluk (“CSKA”), Elmir Nabiullin (“Rubin”), Alexei Miranchuk (“Lokomotiv") and Alexander Golovin (“CSKA”) became the awardees.

For more details and the course of voting, please check the website of the Children's Football League.